$ 5: Add Bicycle Quarterly to Your Order

bq53_cover_lowres

We often hear from new subscribers: “If I had known how much I like the magazine, I would have subscribed years ago!”

Now it’s easier to give Bicycle Quarterly a try: you can add the current issue to your Compass Bicycles Ltd. on-line order for just $ 5 at www.compasscycle.com.

BQ_autumn_diverge

Whether you are a new reader or want an additional copy to give to a friend, it’s an easy way to enjoy our inspiring adventures, detailed bike tests and gorgeous photography…

BQ_autumn_hirose

… our in-depth reports from the greatest builders…

BQ_autumn_cyclotouring

… and our great features from cycling’s glorious past.

Look for this special offer on the check out page of your Compass Bicycles order. We’ll either include the magazine in your package or, if it doesn’t fit, send it with our next regular mailing.

About Jan Heine, Editor, Bicycle Quarterly

I love cycling and bicycles, especially those that take us off the beaten path. I edit Bicycle Quarterly magazine, and occasionally write for other publications. Bicycle Quarterly's sister company, Compass Bicycles Ltd., turns the results of our research into high-quality bicycle components for real-world riders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to $ 5: Add Bicycle Quarterly to Your Order

  1. Cris says:

    Any plans to release an electronic option of your magazine? I understand there is something romantic about receiving a paper magazine in the mailbox. Many of us, however, prefer being environmentally friendly, or live overseas (in places where the post office is inefficient), etc. You would obviously save money on printing, delivery and postal costs — money that you could invest to expand your business in other ways. It would also be nice to also pay for downloads for back issues to access them at any time.

    • I can see the appeal of an electronic subscription, but unfortunately, it’s not something we can do, unless we switch entirely. We are too small to do both paper and electronic.

      The reason to stay with paper is simple: Our photography does not translate well into digital formats. We spend a huge amount of time, effort and money on bringing you some of the best photography in any bike magazine. Reducing that to 72 dpi would be sad.

      Beyond that, managing an electronic subscription requires proprietary software. We are much too small to develop and manage this software, and if we use other services, the cost is huge (30+% of the subscription cost). So yes, we’d save time and effort, but you’d have to pay more for something ephemeral.

      The paper BQs will be around in 100 years, just like the wonderful old issue of Le Cycliste, Vélocio’s magazine, whereas I cannot read my electronic files of my Ph.D. dissertation, 17 years after I wrote it! (I do have a few paper copies…) Imagine if the wonderful Daniel Rebour drawings had been electronic files only…

      As to the environmental impact, that is why we print only four issues a year!😉
      Compared to all the paper you get in the mail, four copies of BQ won’t make a big difference.

      • marmotte27 says:

        Besides of the fact that I prefer paper for all the reason you list, I’m a little doubtful about the environmental benefits of electronic publishing. All those servers turning 24/24 to keep the contents accessible consume huge amounts of energy; about 30 nuclear powerplants worldwide are needed to power the internet, as far as I’ve read.
        Of course electronic publisihing is only a part of this, maybe a pretty small one, but if you calculated the impact of paper magazine versus electronic magazine, I’m not sure elctronics would win out.

      • Antoine says:

        I totally agree with you Jan. I am always very happy when the last issue of BQ is in the mailbox, even if I have to wait a few more weeks than US readers (I live in Paris).
        On the other hand, being able to purchase PDF files of back issues (or even just selected articles) would be nice, but I quite understand that for a small team like yours it’s not that simple.
        Anyway, thank you very much for your work.

  2. john says:

    I haven’t see BQ on the shelf of local book stores. Can it be bought anywhere around Seattle?

    • Check out Bull Dog News on The Ave, as well as University Bookstore in the U district. I’ll check with our Seattle distributor Small Changes to see where they stock it – they take a lot of BQ and sell out, so it must be in a number of places.
      -Barbara
      Compass Staff

      • Small Changes has BQ in quite a few interesting spots on the West Coast:
        Portland: Annie Blooms Books, Broadway Books, Food Front-Thurman, Powells downtown and Hawthorn
        Friday Harbor WA: Friday Harbor Marketplace
        San Francisco: Books Inc, Green Apple Books, Alley Cat Books, Alexander Book Company
        Seattle’s north end/Lake Forest Park: 3rd Place Books
        Astoria OR: Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe
        Davis: Newsbeat
        Arcata: Northtown Books
        Olympia WA: Orca Books
        Bellingham WA: Village Books

        -Barbara
        Compass Staff

  3. Conrad says:

    The way I see it: anything of any lasting value is on printed or solid media. I’m happy to have VeloNews online. I read it but there is never anything there that I would want to keep on my bookshelf for any period of time. BQ is good enough that I have it on my bookshelf and plan on keeping it there. It is the same with music. I am happy to check out the new album from some band on digital format. If it is amazing and worth keeping, I go out and buy the record. So keep up the good work BQ- not many people are making things of lasting value in the bicycle industry anymore!

Comments are closed.