4,000+ Subscribers!

test_bike1

We just signed up our 4000th current subscriber to Bicycle Quarterly. The response to our 50th issue has been overwhelming – both from long-time readers who considered it our “best one yet” and from new subscribers. We received even more feedback than usual, with comments like: “The publication really has come into its own.” and “So finely presented, and I look forward to soaking up all the info and images. Thanks for the high quality of work!”

Thank you to all who have made this possible, by subscribing and by spreading the word about Bicycle Quarterly: telling friends and riding partners, lending copies to someone who is interested, talking about BQ in online forums, and showing BQ to your favorite bike shop and asking them to carry it.

Our printing is paid by subscribers (instead of advertising), so passing the 4,000 mark means we can more print more content in all future issues – maybe not quite as much as our “biggest-ever” 50th issue, but the upcoming Spring 2015 Bicycle Quarterly is getting close!

test_bike2

Bicycle Quarterly provides inspiration and information, and it’s a good read, too. The magazine always has been about new ideas, and the Spring issue goes one step further in that direction: We’ve tested a number of bikes that are quite different from our usual fare. Some are developments of the Allroad bikes we’ve been riding for the last few years, while others provide very intriguing alternatives. (The photos show these bikes, hopefully without giving away too much!)

test_bike3

We researched new ideas that may influence what your next bike looks like. (I know they’ve influenced the bike I just ordered!) And of course, Bicycle Quarterly‘s research always involves amazing rides, wonderful scenery and great adventures.

The Spring issue will be out in March. In the meantime, there still is time to get our “biggest-ever” 50th issue, with one last mailing later this week. So don’t wait to subscribe or renew… And once you’ve finished reading the 108 action-packed pages of the 50th Bicycle Quarterly, the Spring issue one will be on its way!

Click here for more information on the 50th issue, or click here to subscribe.

 

About Jan Heine, Editor, Bicycle Quarterly

Spirited rides that zig-zag across mountain ranges. Bicycle Quarterly magazine and its sister company, Compass Cycles, that turns our research into high-performance components for real-world riders.
This entry was posted in Bicycle Quarterly Back Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 4,000+ Subscribers!

  1. Steve Palincsar says:

    Are you going to tell us about the bike you just ordered? Or do we have to wait for the Spring issue to find out more about it?

  2. FTA: “We researched new ideas that may influence what your next bike looks like. (I know they’ve influenced the bike I just ordered!)”
    Ooh, how exciting. I would guess you’ve ordered something japanese, perhaps a Toei? I simply have no clue as to what style though. I can’t imagine you would order a new pure randonneur as your Herse is so fine. A tandem?!

  3. Ryan says:

    Great milestone! Nice work on a fantastic magazine.

  4. Chris V. says:

    What is the brand/model of the bike are you riding in the 1st picture where you are heading down the grassy hill? Just resubscribed! Thanks for a great magazine.

  5. Mike G says:

    Bicycle Quarterly findings definitely influenced the bike I ride today, and the tires on it! I always look forward to the next issue and am spreading the word. Keep up the good work!

  6. iowabob says:

    I finally had to put my copy of No. 50 in a cabinet so I would read something else. It was indeed the best one yet, or darn close. Congratulations on crossing 4,000.

    Hmm… I see a rear disc brake and fat tires. Low-trail camping/”mountain” bike? Looking forward to the story in any case.

  7. AdamBike99 says:

    I guess we’ll just have to “truss” you on your new bike choice…😎

  8. Four thousand is definitely cause for celebration. On the other hand, I’m guessing this same magazine, with (just) four thousand readers, is influencing the larger bicycle community more than other publications with greater readership. Such is the power of informed passion and long-form writing. Congratulations.

  9. John McNamara says:

    The second photo gives me some hope that BQ has been testing the sort of alternative bike I’ve been considering. After struggling to commute through rock ballast, muddy sections, snow & ice all winter, I’m seeing the need for a frame that’ll accept even bigger tires (w/ lower psi) and disc brakes (easier to swap wheels & tires without brake adjustments). But with lower trail and less mountain-bikey geometry? No matter the bike, the thing I love about BQ is how they critically examine each test-bike unsparingly. You or I may not agree with their feelings about the bike in question, but their frame of reference is continually evolving and unambiguous.

  10. Gunther says:

    I just showed a friend some of my BQ issues. He was interested but found it somewhat exotic suggesting I might be the only German reader. Certainly this is not true, but could you provide some numbers where your readers come from geographically?

    • We have readers all over the world. There are about 80 readers in Germany.

      • Christoph says:

        80 readers in Germany—does this number only include those who subscribed to the magazine via Compass? Just wondering, because there are other ways of obtaining Bicycle Quarterly in Germany, the most convenient one being a subscription via fahrradbuch.de (that’s what I chose), so I guess there are a lot more readers. Actually, the magazine is quite popular among my Berlin friends, and a considerable number of local and not so local riders have incorporated many of the ideas and designs published in Bicycle Quarterly in the build of their latest bikes.

        It’s not that easy to build a 650B bike following your suggestions on a budget, though, because most of the mass-production frame sets sold by US brands are virtually unavailable in Germany due to the lack of distribution partners; shipping fees and customs duties are prohibitively high when importing frames directly. Even going custom can be difficult because few builders know about the virtues of low-trail 650B-wheeled bikes. I hope that will change soon.

        Looking forward to the Spring issue. Keep up the good work.

      • That includes all copies shipped to Germany, including Fahrradbuch.de and one or two newsstands.

      • Frank B. says:

        Being one of the German readers subscribing via Fahrradbuch, I can recommend their service, too.

        I’d say that the situation regarding BQ-style 650B products over here became much better last year. I still had to import my Rawland Stag on my own, buy Hetres in NL, but now it’s possible to get future Rawland models via European importers in GB or NL. Soma Grand Rando seems to be readily available as well, and of course there are framebuilders over here as well, some of which already dip their toes into more “French” randoneuring models (again?) as well. There are various German sellers for Hetre tires or tyres, so no problem on this front anymore.

        The US-crowd OTOH may envy us for the easy availability of more commuter oriented hardware like those made by Schwalbe, B&M etc. And France is closer as well, for garage finds.

        I have found no European source for Compass-items however, and I feel that the direct shipping costs for example for a pair of Compass tires to Germany is disproportionately high (at least is was last time I asked).

      • Yes, international shipping has become very expensive, unless you are a huge company that can fill a planeload of stuff a day… For Compass items in Europe, check with Velo Vitality in Britain and M-Gineering in the Netherlands.

      • Frank B. says:

        Ah, I didn’t know about Velo Vitality, cool, I will check them out. M-Gineering already is my source for Hetres, but he didn’t carry Compass tires last time I was in need of new shoes. Probably he will do when these Hetres have to be replaced.

  11. Chris says:

    I can’t tell if the orange bike has disk or rim brakes but if it’s rim, I’m guessing a BMC Monstercross!

  12. Michael says:

    I enjoy reading BQ and this blog. Fun and educational.

  13. Jan-Olov says:

    Congrats, to your number 50, and to reach >4k.

    I think I was one of the four first subscribers in Sweden.
    I have also read your articles in Rivendell Reader before.

    Now we have lot more of 650B low trail bikes in Sweden, only in Stockholm we aprox 6 custmbuild bikes by local builder in Gothenburg.
    I have one and my girlfriends first decent bike is custom build 650B low trail bike,

  14. Harry says:

    Algeria, North Africa for this subscriber. I read and dream of rides to come when I get back home to France.

Comments are closed.