Bicycle Quarterly Wool Jerseys

un-meeting_rainier

When we received our first shipment of Bicycle Quarterly wool jerseys, they sold out within days. They are specially sourced from Italy. The weaving of the fabric, sewing of the jerseys, embroidering of the lettering – all takes a lot of work and time, so supplies can be a little erratic. We just received another shipment.

People around Seattle recognize me by the jerseys I wear. They are simply the most comfortable jerseys I’ve tried. They are scratch-free and comfortable in a wide range of temperatures. Unlike synthetic clothing, they don’t retain body odors, even when you’ve been on the road for days during a long brevet. And they are remarkably durable: I am still using the very first Seattle Randonneurs jersey we ordered from Woolistic 14 years ago!

They are also easy to care for – I wash mine on the “wool” cycle in the washing machine, and then hang them out to dry, if the weather permits, or put them in the dryer on the lowest setting. Over the years, my jerseys have gone through hundreds of washes without shrinking or getting threadbare.

The one thing that will ruin wool jerseys is putting heavy things in the back pockets. Have your bike carry your stuff! It’s more comfortable that way, too.

They are available with long and short sleeves, in sizes from S to XL. Click here for more information.

About Jan Heine, Editor, Bicycle Quarterly

I love cycling and bicycles, especially those that take us off the beaten path. I edit Bicycle Quarterly magazine, and occasionally write for other publications. Bicycle Quarterly's sister company, Compass Bicycles Ltd., turns the results of our research into high-quality bicycle components for real-world riders.
This entry was posted in Clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bicycle Quarterly Wool Jerseys

  1. Max Beach says:

    Big guys need a little love here, Jan… would love a jersey that fits a 48″ chest (the 3xl woolistic/vintage velo jerseys fit me well).

  2. B. Carfree says:

    The answer is probably obvious, but I missed it (kind of like that turn that once turned a 200k into an imperial double). What is the return policy in the event that I get the size wrong?

  3. bostonbybike says:

    Very nice jerseys! But I wonder why wool jerseys must cost at least $150? The reason why I don’t use one is because for the price of one I can buy 3 simple, short sleeve wool baselayers in nice, neutral color, with the same wool weight and similar quality as those jerseys. The only things these baselayers don’t have are the zipper (don’t need one anyway) and back pockets. Does adding 3 back pockets cost $100?

  4. Christopher Grande says:

    Are you riding a Weigle? I don’t recall ever seeing that one in BQ; something to be published in a future issue?

  5. David Pearce says:

    Who IS that dapper man in front of that impressive peak, wearing that stylish jersey?!🙂

  6. David Pearce says:

    Here’s a serious question: What size are you wearing in the photo above, and the photos of you modeling the long- and short-sleeved versions?

  7. bern58 says:

    I love full length zippers on both my long and short sleeve jerseys. Are you going to offer these in full length?

    • No plans. I don’t like full-length zippers, since they always bunch up, and I find at least if you are somewhat inclined on the bike, the air enters mostly at chest level and cools your entire torso. I know not everybody agrees, and perhaps some day, we’ll offer full zippers. For now, these are so hard to get that they usually sell out quickly.

  8. Sukho V says:

    Looking forward to your Weigle write-up, will renew my subscription after I write this. On a different note, what kind of helmet are you wearing in the jersey pictures? Looks incredibly low profile and comfortable.

  9. Pam says:

    I just received my jersey in the mail (long sleeve). It’s lovely. The wool does seem a tad lighter weight than Woolistic jerseys from before the company went to China (whence it has now returned). So I’m not sure the long sleeve is a true winter jersey, at least not without another layer underneath. I have the replica Molteni long sleeve from about seven or eight years back, and Jan is right that they last forever, especially if you darn any holes before there’s serious unraveling. I’m looking forward to wearing it, now that fall has really arrived in the mid-Atlantic.

Comments are closed.