PBP: The Movie

Last week, Sur la Route de l’Extreme by Sandrine Lopez and Philip Dupuis was shown on French TV. It’s a well-done documentary of this year’s PBP, with beautiful shots showing the variety of randonneurs who participate, from the fastest to the slowest. There are great shots of the lead peloton. I loved a scene following a faired tricycle recumbent on a descent. In an evocative twilight scene, I spotted a friend leaning against a tree and napping. And I had tears in my eyes when a rider abandoned with back pain.

So you can watch it, too, we have put a recording on the Bicycle Quarterly server. Download it and watch it over the holidays (mp4 file, 155 MB, French language without subtitles). Enjoy!

We would like to wish Happy Holidays to all our readers and customers. May the new year bring you great rides and wonderful memories!

About Jan Heine, Editor, Bicycle Quarterly

I love cycling and bicycles, especially those that take us off the beaten path. I edit Bicycle Quarterly magazine, and occasionally write for other publications. One of our companies, Bicycle Quarterly Press publishes cycling books, while Compass Bicycles Ltd. makes and distributes high-quality bicycle components for real-world riders.
This entry was posted in PBP Preparation. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to PBP: The Movie

  1. John B says:

    What do you suggest to play this mp4 file with in Windows?

  2. Pondero says:

    Thanks, Jan, I’d like to view the movie, but had trouble with the “download” link. Can you check it?

  3. Tim Potter says:

    Many thanks for the visual gift Jan! Merry Christmas to you and your family too!

  4. Richard James says:

    Neat film, worked fine with Media Player Classic. Subtitles would help fill in the gaps in my “PBP French”

  5. Lovely Bicycle! says:

    Thank you, looking forward to watching this over the holiday break!

  6. Merci! Quicktime player plays mp4 with no trouble.

  7. John B says:

    No wonder my original download wouldn’t play for me. Looks like I only got half of the 155 MB the first time.

  8. k says:

    Try Internet Explorer. Could not get to work with Chrome.

  9. Bill Russell says:

    Although I don’t speak French, the potency of this film spoke volumes to me. Both ends of PBP are covered: the power and pressure of riding with the front group, as well as the protracted miseries of life at the rear. Bravo!

  10. fabiozen says:

    Thanks for this great film.

  11. Gert Pagter says:

    Thank You
    Beatiful film, but You are right about the lack of riders in the “middle”, but there is not much drama in the middle, so it is understandable.

    • not much drama in the middle

      Not much drama, but a lot of beauty. Seeing riders enter a control, unhurried, but purposeful, and getting back on the road within 10 minutes after having eaten a bowl of soup, would pretty inspirational to me.

      • Richard James says:

        I agree! Tough event to film because there is no time for mid-ride coverage/interviews for those enjoying a great ride in and around the bulge. Watching riders adapt to conditions and the realities of PBP (vs. expectations) was an impressive sight

  12. Brought back a lot of memories… Thank you for sharing.

    I was amongst those “lagging” behind with 87hrs and 26 minutes.

    I had not intention to race, and although I understand the appeal, and understanding it was my first PBP, I suspect most riders wanted to complete the ride as best as they could with the resources they had, as I was.

    I had no support whatsoever at the controls, besides what the organization arranged (which was top notch in my humble opinion), and had to carry all my stuff with me.

    I salute the “first wave speedsters”, but I also have a lot of respect for those that took this ride with all their stuff, and completed it before the end.

    I also appreciate how supportive the population was along the path; I never expected such support for cyclists. It still brings tears to my eyes remembering the smiles and warm words of support and I feel I never thanked them enough for that.

    This was an awesome documentary, and I appreciate you sharing it.

    • Congratulation on completing PBP. I would not call your time “lagging” at all. Riding within your limits, with some margin to the time limit, is what PBP is about. It sounds like you had a great time, too. I agree that PBP is a very emotional experience, because of the support of the local population.

Comments are closed.