BQ’s Calendar of Classic Bicycles 2014

books_calendar_2014

Like in previous years, Bicycle Quarterly has teamed up with Rizzoli’s Universe Publishing to create a Classic Bicycles calendar for 2014. On the cover is a wonderful René Herse Randonneuse built in 1950. Inside are studio photos of twelve classic bicycles.

books_calendar_2014_back

Fans of racing bikes will enjoy Greg LeMond’s Gitane, Guiseppe Saronni’s Colnago, and a 1930s Caminargent with an aluminum frame.

books_calendar_2014_det_1

Cyclotouring bikes include machines from Alex Singer, René Herse and Jo Routens, as well as the incredible Faure (above), which was made by a French jeweler. Counterpoints are provided by a Hirondelle Retro-Directe with its figure-8 chain, a Labor with a single-leg fork, and a tandem that set the hour record in the 1930s.

In addition to photos that have been featured in books from Bicycle Quarterly Press, the calendar shows many previously unpublished detail photographs. I look forward to enjoying my favorite bikes on my wall through the coming year.

The calendar is priced at $ 15 and available from the Bicycle Quarterly bookstore, as well as bookstores and stores that carry calendars. Quantities are limited, and last year’s calendar sold out quickly.

For more information or to order your calendar, click here.

About Jan Heine, Editor, Bicycle Quarterly

I love cycling and bicycles, especially those that take us off the beaten path. I edit Bicycle Quarterly magazine, and occasionally write for other publications. One of our companies, Bicycle Quarterly Press publishes cycling books, while Compass Bicycles Ltd. makes and distributes high-quality bicycle components for real-world riders.
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to BQ’s Calendar of Classic Bicycles 2014

  1. David Pearce says:

    Forget it! Don’t worry, I’m smiling. I tried to order 3, AND a tandem poster on my smartphone BlackBerry and got up to the shipping address when a unplanned page reload happened and all my entries were lost. I’ll have to order it thru my laptop when back in wi-fi coverage. O, please, please, please establish a customer login for returning customers with name, billing & shipping addresses saved in your system!

    • Thank you for the suggestion. We are working on that.

      • David Pearce says:

        I notice that the “Jeweled” Faure, the fender I notice is attached in the way you advocate, with the stay directly against the fender for a tight fit. But speaking of close observation, what is that chrome round thing attached to the fender behind the light and, I guess, facing the rider? A speedometer?

      • That is indeed a speedometer. They were very popular in the 1930s and early 1940s. The Faure has a matching bell, pocket watch and speedometer, all the same diameter…

      • David Pearce says:

        Isn’t that nice! An accessory, a pocket watch, to go with the bicycle–a nice extension of the product. Of course, your On-Off switch for your lights on the top of your stem is in an excellent central location for an important switch, and I love your workmanship, but I do admire the clock that VO sells for threadless stems in that location. That is cool to me, “nice and analog”, if that can be an idiom. I’m sure Faure would have agreed, if waterproofness & electronics were as advanced as now.

        The Faure’s headlight I find fascinating. Not only the yellow bulb, but beautiful metal visor, which I bet was for not blinding other drivers, though it’s hard to imagine light strength of that kind then, but maybe it was just for water-resistance, or to focus the light down to the road.

      • I think many cyclists like to personalize their bikes. I am told that pocket watch holders were used in Britain by some riders in the 12- and 24-hour time trials to keep track of time. (I’ve seen the holders on restored bikes.) On the Faure, it’s almost over-the-top for me, emphasizing the bike as an object more than a performance machine. As a rider, I prefer bikes that are just the essentials, but I want those to be executed perfectly. The René Herse on the cover of the calendar is a good example.

        As to the headlight, I assume it was for aesthetic reasons. I do think that light is one of the most elegant ever made. I haven’t ridden with one, so I don’t know whether the hood has a function – perhaps not avoiding blinding oncoming traffic (those old lights weren’t that powerful, and there wasn’t that much taffic in 1950) – but perhaps it was reflecting some of the light that was wasted by shining into the sky back to the reflector in a way that put it on the road? That would be neat, and I am tempted to see whether I can find one and compare the beam pattern to a similar light without the hood. 

  2. Thom J. says:

    I missed out on the 2013 calendar but I purchased the 2014 issue when I saw it available. Recv’d it along with some back issues last week. Beautiful both in content and execution. If unique is what you seek, this is a must have. TJ.

  3. marmotte27 says:

    Have you or anyone in your acquaintance actually ridden the Faure once?

    • No. It’s so pristine, it’s obvious it hasn’t been ridden much. The bike is shown and mentioned in Le Cycliste or Le Cycle when it was new, and there was at least one Faure who rode well in the hillclimbs that were popular among cyclotourists back then, but Faure is a relatively common name, and hillclimber and the builder of the bike may not be the same.

      Whether it was built to be ridden or just for show, the bike has many innovative solutions. The spring-loaded light mount on the fender is a neat idea, as it allows adjusting the angle of your headlight without tools. I achieved something similar with my forked light mounts, and I use that feature all the time. A lower beam in the city and on busy roads, but a higher beam on challenging mountain descents, where I otherwise ride into the dark when I am diving into a dip in the road…

  4. Larry T. says:

    Calendar 2014 duly ordered. I found a 2013 edition in a B&N bookstore in Sioux City, IA of all places! Looks great on the office wall…if we had more wall space some of the pages would look great framed. Keep up the good work! Best wishes for a great 2014 to all.

  5. David Loyd says:

    Thank you for another excellent edition of Bicycle Quarterly. The second-to-last article sums it all up quite nicely: How to look back without swerving!

  6. Margaret says:

    I’m curious why you went with a mirror image of the Faure for the calendar.

    • For some reason, the layout designer decided to reverse the photo, obviously unaware that bicycles always have their drivetrain on the right side. We didn’t catch it in the proofing process… Sorry about that.

      • marmotte27 says:

        I had that problem a while a ago with the catalogue of an exhibition edited by a museum (one of the greatest in the world…). A painting by one of the major painters was reversed in the catalogue! And as it was that painting I was most interested in I left there an then, thorougly disgusted.

        Not so much an issue here however, maybe it makes the calendar even more of a collectors item (not only does it show one of the rare Faure bikes, but it also the one with the left-sided drive train….;-) )

    • David Pearce says:

      How about that! Another pair of good eyes. Maybe that’s why it’s rarely been ridden. It’s like a unicorn, only captured for a split-second in a photographer’s lens!

Comments are closed.